Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Author’s claim “Universities should require every student to take variety of courses outside the student’s field of study” in certain cases, in my opinion, author’s claim holds credence as subjects are interdependent and for professing in any subject student should have basic knowledge about other fields. Following are the reasons for my accordance with the author’s claim.

Firstly, Universities is a place where student rely most for acquiring knowledge which can help them in construing the world around them. Thus, it is sole responsibility of the university to impart sufficient knowledge to their students, so that they can excel in their career. During my Bachelor’s degree in information technology, I have studied basic concepts about electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, etc. In my university during first year of engineering, each and every students had been taught about others fields so that students can have the basic knowledge about each and every field and can understand how each and every field is contributing in making the world. Not only for interpreting the world around us having knowledge about other fields also helps in making student versatile in performing tasks. Considering current situation, many companies are demanding students who are capable in performing more than one task as having such employees will benefits company in terms of efficiency as well as financially (as less employees need to be hired). Thus, having knowledge of courses outside the student’s field of study will provide them an edge in acquiring more responsible job and also enlighten them with knowledge which in turn help them in understanding the world around them.

Secondly, Each subject is not plenary enough, thus if one need to make advancement in any subject, he/she need to have knowledge and experience of other fields. Consider and example, In artificial intelligence domain, specifically robotics field, one need to have knowledge about circuits (electrical engineering), mechanical parts (mechanical engineering), computer science field, etc. for successfully implementing their notions in reality. Consider other example, in past, computer used to acquire whole room whereas considering current situation computers (laptop’s) have became soo handy that one can travel with computer with great ease. If person not having knowledge about microprocessors, reducing the size using more compact parts, etc. would able to make such advancement? Thus, Learning other courses outside the field of study will help in making striking advancement in his/her field of study.

On wrapping up, Outside knowledge will be great boon for a student to make any contribution in his/her field of study, it will also provide them knowledge about existing phenomenon resulting in world around them. In job perspective also, student having knowledge about field other their field of study will also increase their job chances.