To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Author’s claim “To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities”, in my opinion, author has overlook the characteristics of society that small towns or rural area represents. Though, Major cities do provides the economic, political and social characteristics of society but one need to look small towns to learn cultural heritage.

In this technological world, major cities are employing advancements to be in the race of development. Thus, there is highest probability that major cities may negotiate their cultural rituals and traditions in order to become developed city. It is rural areas where people are still preserving cultural heritage and traditions.

In this technological era, people from all over country travel to major city in hope of acquiring better life. Thus, if one understands the characteristics of a society through major cities then one may construe it different from what really is as cities include people from all over world with different culture and traditions. In India, which is known for its cultural diversity, when one tries to understand the culture of any state by just looking at the major city, then he/she might fail. Cities like Mumbai, New Delhi, Bangalore, people travel from faraway places to these cities in order to find jobs, experience the advancement, etc. Thus one need to look into rural area to learn about culture and traditions of the state's people. In India, about 70 percent of people live in rural areas and small towns, thus, rural area and small towns are must to be studied in order to learn important characteristics of a society.

However, one must look at major cities, to understand the economic, political and social characteristics because it is major cities which contribute most to the economic sector. Politicians are more focused towards major cities, as major cities consists of diverse people and pleasing diverse range became a difficult task for politicians. It is in major cities, where artists is been recognized through his/her displays, performance, etc. It is nation’s major cities through which nations are categorized into developed, developing and underdeveloped category.

On wrapping up, Major cities depicts important characteristics of a society but if fails to provide holistic view, if one want a holistic view, they need to study both major cities as well as small towns or rural areas.