All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Education is very important for an individual. It aids an individual to construe the world around her/him. Thus, in my opinion, Author’s claim “All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country” holds credit as students getting opportunity to learn about foreign country will instigate their learning process whereas some might argue that spending time in foreign country even though one have decided to stay in their country is worthless and some might not able to afford foreign education. On the outset, I would agree to author’s claim and following are the reasons for my accordance.

Firstly, students spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country will enable them to understand and respect completely new culture. In this era of increasing global communication, one should respect that cultural diversity. Students getting exposure to different culture will allow them to make exciting discoveries about different culture, how people carry on their cultures and many more and this will ultimately spur the respect for different cultures. India is well known for its cultural heritage, India though having variety of cultures, people holding different culture live happily and prosperously because people of India have learned to acknowledge each and every culture and had not allow cultural diversity to vitiate their unity.

Secondly, Student will able to learn more if they are push out from their comfort zone and studying in a foreign country will allow students to become independent. It will teach a student to live without friends and family and how to make new relations with different people. Studying in foreign country will also allow students to communicate with professors and learn about their thoughts and their approaches to solve a problem. In china, Government sends their students to United States for studying for certain period of time so that their students can learn about different technologies, problems encountered by people, different approaches used by people, and many more. Students coming back to country can able to solve problems effectively.

Thirdly, each country have their own national language, thus studying in foreign country will allow students to learn different language. Learning different language may help students in their jobs while they have to communicate with their foreign customers. Certain people join classes for studying foreign language, thus spending time in foreign country will save time and will not allow language be barrier in their work.

On wrapping up, Government should earmark funds for promoting their students to spend some time studying in foreign studies because it will not only help an individual in building confidence but in future students having knowledge about foreign country can help the nation in solving their problems.