We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Each and Every human is peculiar and have their own perspective in looking at things. The author’s claim “We learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own” holds little credence as author’s has overlooked that the major discoveries are being made by refuting the existing beliefs. And it seems pretty clear that the process of repulsing will provide a person to look at things differently. However, Sometimes, contradiction can create confusion, stress and may instill anger as at that time person holding different views need to prove the credibility of his/her thoughts. On the outset, in my opinion, in major cases contradiction had turned out to be more fruitful than accordance. Following are the reasons for my discordance with author’s claim.

Firstly, In a field of research, there are plethora of examples where due to opposing views held by people, have led to striking discovery. At Galileo time, christian authorities had made people believe that earth is at center and sun revolve around earth, it was the later, Copernicus, through his observations and research work, redacted the concept about the revolution of earth around sun with sun at center. Thus, it is due to contradiction of the views held by christian authorities and Copernicus, led out such a striking discovery.

Secondly, Not only in researches, in politics also, government should consider the viewpoint held by people as it will provide a official body a different perspective at looking things. Children and parents are the best example which will support my opinion as children and parents hold opposite views on most of topics like children want to stay with their friends late night whereas parents doesn’t like their child to stay outside late night. At this point children need to understands why his/her parent want to impose such restrictions, whereas, in certain situation, parents should also acknowledge the differences between current generation and their generation. Thus, through opposing view point people learn much more than from person holding same viewpoint.

However, In certain cases, author’s claim holds credence. Most of the current shows are including debates show, so that people holding different viewpoints can put their views in front of each other, but instead of listening to each other, they start imposing their viewpoint nonchalant about whether other person is hearing their viewpoint or not. Such debates instead of whet person to learn other’s viewpoint, inhibits learning process.

On wrapping up, a person can learn much more from people holding opposing viewpoint but the person who want to convey his/her viewpoint should not be to impervious in imposing his/her beliefs on other otherwise instead of learning such action can actually hobble the learning process.