We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

I mostly disagree with the prompt that one can learn much more with the people who share our views as compared to those whose views are different from us because of the two main reasons. However it is possible to learn with the people with similar view points too, but there will be overlapping of knowledge.

Firstly to begin with, sharing our views with the people with opposite ideas helps an individual to expand his or her range of perspective enabling an individual to get better idea of a topic. For instance, if there are two people who share opposing ideas are made to debate on them, there would be much greater room for learning about the topic and understanding why does the opponent has come to the conclusion and why does he believes in his views. Thus it widens perspective for determining ones view points.

Further, it also helps an individual in long-term to master the field and for gaining confidence in his views in that filed. For example, if a person is tackling same questions with multiple number of persons he would in turn understand their view in better way and would also come up with better justifications which would help then to understand his views. Also every person's perspective is also different so it will also help him to learn different views too.

However, in case of the people who share similar views may have something to share within themselves but the possibility of overlapping of the same information is higher. What it means is that the people with same views may share some information which provides better learning opportunity but in most of the case there will be higher chance that the shared information is more common and already known to an individual as compared to the new information. Thus, I would like to close by stating that there is comparatively not much more learning with people of same ideology as compared to the people with opposite ideas.