Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

I mostly disagree with the passage that sound moral judgment is a prominent characteristic of an effective leader but it is not important as leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers because of the two main reasons. However, in some cases it can be disadvantageous.

Firstly, to begin with the leaders's ability to keep up the respect off his subordinates does not qualify as an important characteristic. As it is rightly said that respect cannot be borrowed it has to created. For instance if the such was the case that respected could be maintained by other's then many unrespected and reprobate celebrities, businessman, politicians could easily buy respected and be at the top of the people's head. Thus,the ability of mantaing respect of his peers should not be considered as a criteria for defining a leader.

Further, the much more important factor which is of making sound moral judgment should be considered as the important aspect of a leader. For example, if a leader is not able to make better decisions for his subordinates then by doing any kind of branding for his peers won't be able to maintain his or his peer's respect. Another example would be of the ex-indian captain M.S Dhoni who earned the respect by his performance and the leadership qualities such as good analytical thinking, decision making and strategies. Thus, the judgmental skills should be provided much more importance than maintaing respect of his peers.

However, in some cases the leader's doh ire the PR team in order to maintain the status and respect of his or her peers as it is directly related to their own stature in the society. but, the truth always gets revealed and the fallacious things come to an end. This, I would conclude by disagreeing with the prompt.