We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

I do not agree with the statement that we learn much more from people of shared view than people of opposite view. No one is perfect in the world and we do make mistakes. we need opposing side in order to check and correct what we do before it becomes too late.

At first glance, the statement seems to be valid. truly there is something to be learned from people who we share common views because nobody in the world knows everything. people with less experience, whatever discipline it may be, can learn from people with more experience. Therefore they can fill the gap of knowledge. When the members of discussion have same opinion, it brings more sound cooperation among them at least at the beginning. also discussions among them will run smoothly, promoting congenial exchange of ideas. however being congenial is not always desirable because continuing the course of action without realizing the truth can end in terrible end.

There is great example in the history where people with common goal working together resulted in horrifying end. The leader of early modern china, mao, thought that steel is essential source for the nation to be industrialized. Therefore he insisted that every household in china have their own steel maker and make steel themselves. In order to make steel, people of china started putting every steel-like product, like utensils, into their steel maker. Certainly mao and their people had no idea what they were doing because all steel is not the same grade. Any usable steel is made from skilled people in high tech factory. Some Chinese knew that their effort won't produce good result but nobody spoke out being afraid of alluding opposite view. Yes, people in the china shared common goal, however they did not learn what is the most important: they are doing it wrong way.

Story of <span style="font-size: 20.57px;">Galileo</span> insisting that earth is not the center of the universe is also a great example. although it was heresy at <span style="font-size: 20.57px;">Galileo</span>'s time, we know it as true now. however we would still be thinking that world is flat and the sun rolls around earth, if we did not learn the true from people like Galileo. nobody is perfect in the world therefore we need people to check what we are doing. This is why discussion with people having different view is important. although discussions among opposite views often become fierce, it begets new ideas and lets us realize holes that we did not see. without people with opposite view, our view tends to be biased.

In short, we should not underestimate the value of opposing side. discussion with opposing view engenders new ideas and fill the missing parts from our own view. it also let us check if what we do is truly right and stops us before it is too late.