Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Author’s claim “Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another”, in my opinion is contentious claim. Many might argue about the surreptitious nature of many discoveries but according to me not a single discovery or innovation is by fluke. Following are the reasons for my discordance towards the author’s claim.

Firstly, Consider an example of the formation of Gravitational law by sir Issac Newton. It might be wondered about the nature of the discovery. Many believe it is surreptitious as if Sir Issac Newton have not seen an falling apple, he would not able to come up with gravitational law but one had overlooked that Sir Isaac Netwon need to work to prove the exceptional notion. Thus, it is rigorous implementation and hard work validated the gravitational law, without proof no one would believe any discovery or Innovation.

Secondly, There are many important discoveries or creations anticipated by researchers like human air flight by wright brothers. They have worked intensively towards the architecture of aeroplane to create first human air flight. After coming up with first model, the airplane get crashed after covering few miles. Due to constant refinement of architecture current architecture was approved for safe air travel. Above example aptly illustrate the hard work and passion after the innovation. Idea can be surreptitious but implementing/proving idea require passion and hard work. Thus, it would be unfair to state any discovery or innovation as accidental.

Thirdly, In Medical field also, many researches are carried out for curing chronic disease or innovating medicines to make operations less excruciating. Consider for example, Madam curry has put her life in danger to make people aware about the effectiveness of radioactive atoms. Later radioactive atoms are used to cure cancer disease. Author also stated that while seeking the answer to one question, we come across the other answers but coming up with these answer require exacting knowledge about different domain and scientists need to further work on each and every questions to validate answers. Thus, nothing is accidental, each and every notion needed to be tested for proving its credibility.

On wrapping up, Discoveries and innovations requires passion and hard work and scientists/researcher need to prove each and every question. Thus, discoveries or innovations can’t be accidental whereas ideas can be accidental but it requires intense hard work to prove any notion.