Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Leaders are the person who set up their own beliefs and paths towards the betterment of people. Author’s claim “Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by the shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little” is little contentious claim as in certain situation where the beliefs and opinion held by others are more convincing then the held by leader, then leader should be compliant enough to accept the opinions of others, whereas, Leader are considered as role model for people and they try to imitate their lives, if leader wavering behavior then people will not consider them as their role model.

Consider a situation, In India, Mahatma Gandhi is able to achieve such name and fame because he have never eluded non-violence path. Even though he can live sumptuous life,he followed the path of austerity. He had spent his whole life in making India’s people life better. If he had obviated the non-violence path and followed the violence path, as at that time India’s people were enraged towards british rule and want independence even though it costs their life. Did his able to win such name from people? Mahatma Gandhi had become example for people because eventhough he followed non-violence path, he succeeded in making india free from british rule. Thus, Leader should be those who remain ardent in following their own beliefs. Leader greatness leaves in his/her decision making, if he/she get easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion, then he/she might get muddled up in opinions and may not able to come up with a solution.

The popular opinions are the opinions of the loudest groups, which might not turn out to be good for people in general. Thus, Leader easily getting influenced by the popular opinion might fail to make good decision in interest of all. Consider a situation, increasing the price of foods and groceries just because there is increase in profits made by rich people, will it consider as viable for people whose life condition is still the same? Thus, Leader should make decision in favor of all not just the major groups.There are many secret operations that are carried out by leaders that people don’t have any hint of it. Thus, in such situation relying on people’s opinion might not be considered as fruitful.

However, Leader should not be to stringent in carrying out their beliefs or opinions that he/she overlook the benefits of the opinion of other people. Each and every person is peculiar and they have different perspective in viewing things. Thus, Considering opinions of people might help leader in coming up with better idea. Though, leader before getting influenced by the opinions of people, should closely consider the consequences of such opinions.

On wrapping up, Leader considering people’s opinion might provide him/her a different perspective at looking things but he/she should closely circumspect the consequences of such beliefs or opinions.