Teachers’ salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students

Author’s claim that ‘Teachers’ salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students’, in my opinion is not valid as teacher as a profession is not lucrative one and thus providing them salaries on the basis of the student’s academic performance might disincentives them performing their work efficiently. Following are the reasons for my discordance towards author’s claim.

Firstly, Such action would dissuade students to take stand for their ineffectiveness as academic performance is highly contingent on oneself. If student is itself not much concerned about his/her performance than why teacher should suffer for nonchalance of student regarding his/her future. Consider an example, In my college, there were many students who used to bunk lectures to chill out with their friends and they were unconcerned about their credits. If in such situation, professor’s salary is reduced due to low attendance or low score, would such action justify the situation? In my opinion, No, such action might instead giver powers to student as if they don’t like any professor they can use such power against that professor. Such actions also would intimidate professor’s for students and they might avoid punishment in lest of salary decrease.

Secondly, Students academic performance doesn’t depend only on one factor. There are many factor whether directly or indirectly affects the performance of children like parent’s behavior, home environment, society fear, etc. Thus, just impending charges on one factor might not result in fructiferous output. If such notions is implemented in real, then it will insult in invariability in the salary of teachers on the basis of qualifications. It might happen that teachers who have just done master degree have more salary compared to teacher who has done PhD.

However, such notions have advantages too as teachers would be more concerned about the performance of each and every student and might pay more attention on each student. This would also result in students getting enough attention of teacher thus they will prefer to tuition. Such benefits are from the side of teachers. Whereas, students should also work towards improving their performance and take charge of their performance rather than imputing teachers for their performance.