To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Leader is a person who carry egalitarian concepts. The Author’s claim “To be effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards” hold some merits as leader is judged by people through his/her moral and ethical standards. Many may consider that leader and ethical or moral standards not go in hand by hand but following reasons will retract such concepts hold by people.

Firstly, history have plethora of examples, where person probity have made him/her a great leader. For India, Mahatma Gandhi is consider as father of the nation, would Mahatma Gandhi did able to entitled with such eponymous if he have followed non-violence path? He had always eluded non-violence path and encourage others to follow same path. His moral standards and ethical conduct was the main factors resulting in people of India entrusting him. Mahatma Gandhi have always cherished egalitarian concept and because of his altruistic nature, people have great reverence towards him. There are many other leaders who have renowned as effective leader through his/her probity.

Secondly, In this Information era, people of nation have become much active to ascertain the responsibility of leader towards people. Thus, if leader fails to fulfill his/her duty, it will incensed people and ultimately will result in depriving leader of his/her powers. Leader is being elected by people in hope that leader will work in interest of people, thus, if leader fails to achieve expectation held by people will result in grievances and hatred from people. In India, people have shown their hatred when leaders have deceited their people by doing various scams, 3G, Coal, etc. and now, congress people's are deprived of their powers they once had.

However, leader being too honest and forthright is also considered to be insidious for people as well as for leader. Consider a situation, where leader come to know about the terrorists invaded in his/her nation, telling people about situation will create great chaos and turmoil among people, thus, in some situation leader should not prefer to be honest. Disclosing polices and plans to people of nation also have certain disadvantages, like if leader discloses the plan about the way they are planning to entrap terrorist, then terrorists will become more cautious and leader will never able to remove terrorists. Thus, sometimes leader being too ethical and adherent towards moral standards might be harmful from him/her and also for nation.

On wrapping up, Leaders are the person, who is judged by people through his probity and leader failing in maintaining ethical and moral conduct might lead to great opprobrium from people, However, in certain cases, leaders should exploit their conduct for maintaining peace among people.