Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Author’s claim represents the opposing viewpoint of the people. Author posits that some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate as corporations make an oath of improving the life of people whereas other believes that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible as corporations are important factor contributing towards the economic sector of the nation. Thus, both the viewpoints of the people hold some credulity.

Corporation should always maintain proper conduct inside as well as outside workplace such that it promotes the well-being of the society. Corporations for enduring the success are failing to maintain the conduct such that it doesn’t harm to society. Considering current scenario, the pollution is proliferating day by day and studies mention that corporations are exploiting the environment and not taking steps in order to nullify the effects they have brought to environment like growing more trees, avoiding excess use of natural resources, using artificial means of resources for satisfying their needs, etc. Corporations probity should be translucent enough so that people can trust on them. Recently, Maggie, which is one of the most used products by all the ages’ group of nation, has been banned because the ingredients used by Maggie had caused severe health issues. After revised version of Maggie product was came into market, people are wary about using such products. Thus, Corporations should take care that their products are innocuous to people. For enduring the success, corporation should promote the well-being of the society as well as environment.

Other viewpoint hold by people about corporation should ensure making much money as possible, provided they operate within the law seems valid as corporation making money will result in economic growth of nation, the employees working for that company will also get better wages, etc. Thus, Corporation should have goals related to attending the bills and profits, so that company can provide their employees adequate salaries and perks, which in turn can motivate employees to work enthusiastically. Corporation should not prioritize money over probity as people put trust on those corporation products, whose conduct is proper. Considering current scenario, there are more than one brands of a product like tomato ketchup; people tend to choose kissan ketchup over all other brands because people have trust on this product.

On wrapping up, in my opinion, corporation should be more concerned about their image among people then making more money as in the corporate world, trust and money go hand in hand. Thus, corporation able to win the trust of people, in turn will able to make more money. Though, corporation should have plans for improving their profit as they are the important factor contributing to economic sector of nation