The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times

Author’s claim “The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times”, in my opinion is contentious claim as people behavior haven’t shown an significant change, still there are people who excites quarrels, factions, etc. People still exhibit aggression, anger and so on. However, in technological and economical sense present is no more like history. Problems have be proliferated, intensified or new problems have been encountered. Following are the reasons for accordance towards author’s claim.

Firstly, Consider an example of number of fields of study, over generations, number of fields of study has also increased. For example, in history there were not trends of artificial intelligence or IOT like we have today. The notion of training of machines to make them behave like humans have captivated many science students to work after it. However, in such case history provide no information as such problem is seeded in current scenario. Thus in such case author claim hold strong as history has nothing to offer to solve such problems thus making present different from past.

Secondly, Current problems are different from past in a way that many changes have affected the living conditions of people. In history, literacy rates were quite low which eluded the decision making regarding providing equal knowledge to people of country and considering current situation, people have become more enlighten about the importance of education in one’s life and thus high demands are placed on government . In the past, people were less prone to chronic disease whereas current situation is totally reverted. Due to advancement and introduction of junk foods, people are not immune to many kinds of diseases. Thus, history might defer from present in encountering such kinds of diseases and it’s solutions.

Thirdly, In terms of problems related to nature also, history is quite peaceful compared to current situation. Due to industrialization and high rates of advancement, global warming is also increasing and having severe impact on climate change. Many spices are been categorized in endangered species list and some of the species having extant in past is extinct. Such examples, aptly validates the author claims about studying of history betrays the difference in people living now to people who lived in earlier times.

However, People behavior have not shown significant changes as history is also replete with the wars, quarrels and factions instigated by the behavioral characteristics possess by humans whereas in current situations also people behavior are the reasons for quarrels, factions and wars. People anger and aggression are still the reasons of the plunder.

On wrapping up, I strongly believe that in terms of technological and economical sense present is more complex compared to history whereas socially people still exhibit same behavior as they exhibit in past.