In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Author claim “In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievement within that fields”, here author have overlooked on certain fields which have being introduced recently and had no influence of past achievements like nuclear power, aerospace, nano technology, etc. However, there are many fields, where knowledge of past achievement had great influence on present achievements like cars, planes, etc. Following are the reasons why past experience important for making significant contribution in any field.

Firstly, Past experience is considered as an important assets because past experience deter us from repeating same action which can lead to failure and also allow us to make valuable contribution in any field as person does not need to spend time in experimenting from scratch. In Fields like automobile, past experience have helped a lot, today ‘s airplanes holds mostly same basic structure that were proposed by wright brothers but airplanes also holds some modifications which have made an airplane flight more reliable, comfortable and safe. If a person not having the knowledge about the airplanes structure and what difficulties wright brothers had faced before introducing first airplane flight, then he/she would able understand the importance of each component of airplanes?

Secondly, Not only in technological field, political field also require knowledge about past experiences, as it will allow a leader to assess the situations that had proven to be boon as well as situation that had create chaos and confusion among citizens. Through past experiences, leader can come to know about the demands, behavior, etc. of the people and allow leader to work effectively in interests of people.

However, there are certain fields exist in current scenario, which had no influence of past achievements and at the time of introduction of new field, there exists no past experience thus at some point fields are development based on the requirement rather than past experience. For example, Artificial intelligence field was introduced to solve problem of imitating human activities, behavior, etc. so that those robots can reduce the burden of people. These field had no influence of past achievement as such problems are yet not deal with. Thus, author’s claim that in any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make significant contribution without being strongly influenced by past experience is not true.

On wrapping up, Author’s claim holds credence as past experiences is very important if one wants to make any contribution in any field but author have presumptuously assumed that such case hold for each and every field. There are many new field introduced which have aberrant behavior than existing fields, in such case past experience/achievement holds no importance.