Governments should place few, if any, restriction on scientific research and development

Scientific research development is a sector which contribute towards the welfare of the nation. Author’s claim “Governments should place few, if any, restriction on scientific research and development”, in my opinion, is valid as imparting restriction on scientific research and development might hinder scientists in coming up with something novel that can really improve the living conditions of people of the nation. Following are the reasons for my accordance with the author.

Firstly, Research is sector which require interest and passion and without this ingredients, the research work might not turn out fruitful as anticipated. Thus, restricting scientists in carrying out research work might actually break down their morals. Instead, government should bolster research work carried out by scientists as today’s most of the elements contributing to better life are the milestones achieved by many scientists in their research works. Consider an example, would traveling long distance would be easy if automobiles were not their in scenario? would one able to construe world around them, if scientists through their work have not unleashed truths? Thus above questions aptly specifies the importance of scientific research and development and placing restrictions might hobble scientists in enlightening the people or providing leisure life to people.

Secondly, If government places the restriction on the scientific research and development so that research work carried out by scientist can be useful in solving the problems of the society, would such restriction will really result in solution? In my opinion, research require interest and passion and enforcing scientists to work in field not of their interest might not result in coming up with best solution. Thus, government instead of confining the field of work, should allow scientists to work in any field. Each and every research holds some worth. On what basis one can state that particular research work is of no use. Every research work carried out have indirect impact in contribution.

However, There are some cases in which scientist might require permission of government. For example, when carrying out research related to radioactive material, which have invidious effect on the life’s of people scientist should approve the research work as failure of research might cost a nation very high. In other cases also like leakage in some acids, mishandling of radioactive resources might cost life's. Thus, government should place some restrictions on such experiments carried out.

On wrapping up, Research work require hard-work, passion and interest, thus restricting the research work and development might result in stopping novel and useful innovations, discoveries to exits. However, While carrying out researches which can cost the life's of people if not handled properly government should put some restriction on such researches like location of experiment, equipment used, etc.