When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Author’s claim “When old building stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic building” seems to be little general as historic buildings are the hallmark of our culture, however if modern planners assure to improve the life of people of nation by using ground on which old building stand then, according to me government should allow modern planners to make such change.

Consider an example where modern planner feels of constructing company that will contribute in economic growth of nation because of the location of historic buildings. According to me government should approve it because it will not only contribute in improving economic growth but will able provide jobs to thousands of unemployed people. One should not hold back such developments just to preserve historic buildings, as improving citizen’s living conditions should be the first priority of the government. Consider another example, if any state is not having local hospital or local hospital is far away from the accessibility of the people of state, then one should not deny using the land on which historic buildings are standing because building hospital will provide a great aid to people suffering from disease and have to travel long distance daily for their treatment. Preserving historic building hold no worth, if people health or living requirements are jeopardize.

However, In India, there are many historic building preserved and people enthusiastically work towards continuing preserving such historic hallmarks. In India, tourism is one of the important factors contributing towards economic growth. Every year, people from all over countries are coming to India and visiting such historic buildings like Taj mahal, Udaipur fort, Pink city Jaipur, Ajmer, and many more. India is known for its cultural diversity, where many people in group had been able to preserve their culture. If those historic buildings, which are preserved by people from many decades is eradicated because some modern planner feels it can be used for modern purpose is really valid? From many generations people have been to teach history through such historic building and if such buildings are removed then how future generations will able to believe that such buildings do existed and history related to those buildings, for them it will be another fictional story from past. Thus, government should consider all the factors while deciding to make modern developments over historic building preservation.

On wrapping up, if modern development assure to improve the current living standards of people then eschewing such development is not valid choice over preserving historic building but government should also check on the rate of developments so that in order to improve peoples’ lives, people of nation are left with no historic hallmark which teaches us many lessons that no book or professor can teach us.