When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

How well versed are we with mankind’s history? The author of the above issue supports the idea of forsaking historical structures in favour of new modern development. However, the author fails to accommodate various factors in his argument, which inhibits the settlement of this debate. I for once, agree with the author to some extent but also acknowledge a few flaws in the authors statement by taking into consideration two factors.

Society is a cumulative construct based on the history and previous experiences. It is these experiences and knowledge that build up the basis of our culture today. Of all the things which portray the past, historic buildings are one of the most massive structures which display the hard work and struggle our predecessors went through. They act as an epitome of diligence our ancestors had to undergo and constantly remind us of them. Modern constructions which try to utilize the space efficiently and are of no match to such relics which hold such strong value. Hence, in most general cases, modern constructions should not be given priority over historic buildings.

Another factor to be considered before vaguely jumping to conclusions is to also consider the aspects of modernization and its impact on lifestyle. Cities are built from dust to wonders for people to come together and live in harmony. Modern planners play a vital role in the nurturing of this healthy environment by developing infrastructure for the people. An increased number of people coming to cities to be part of this amazing idea would eventually lead to housing problems and inaccessibility to facilities. Hence, historic buildings would just translate to superfluous structures which occupy space. In an ideal scenario, these buildings should be brought down in order to accommodate the ever growing needs.

The issue presented by the author is rather a complex topic to land a conclusion on. One side is based in invaluable sentiments and the other side lays its foundation on practicality. Hence, where should the sacrifice be made is a very thin rope very difficult to walk upon.