Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

In the researches conducted on the island of Tertia, disparate results came into picture giving no vivid conclusion on the matter of child-rearing. The author stands his ground by throwing evidence in form of research conducted by two different doctors, both yielding a different result and hence failed to report a generalized outcome. However, the author’s claims does not hold good under certain situations.

First of all, how reliable of a study was conducted by Dr. Field to lay down a statement saying that children were reared by the entire village? In other words, the first step to gain meaningful insight on the matter is to consider the mode of research Dr. Field adopted, that is observation-centered. The research conducted by Dr. Field fails to offer any form of demographics on whether his observations are correct but a mere observation to stand its ground. It could be possible that the examination carried out by him over the island of Telia be incorrect as the outcome of his research is just stating what he sees but fails to take into account various other factors which might be concealed within the culture of the residents of the island. The culture could be based on living in harmony and with highly gregarious people who readily inter-twin with each other having much love and affection for all the children of the island, which would clearly not be a part of Dr. Field’s study. Hence, his works may be considered futile.

On the other hand, Dr. Karp takes a different approach to perform his inspection by going down the survey route. His interview could be profound in the sense that it extracts knowledge about the islands culture right from the inhabitants themselves. However, he again fails to provide acknowledgement about the people whom he surveyed. For all we know, he could have surveyed children themselves who are not much of the experienced ones among the habitants of the island so possibly the wrong people to ask questions to in order to make inference. Also, Dr. Karp falls through the same spiral as of Dr. Field in sense that he does not provide any form of data as to how many people were interviewed in his study. It could be a small part of the island which generally hold a different view of their culture which hinders the success of his research. It should also be taken into account that, the validity of the statements given by the inhabitants also cannot be relied upon to be completely true. This could also affect Dr. Karp’s conclusion.

In conclusion, the statements of the argument provided by the author as it stands now is flawed. In its partial deliverance, both studies return inadequate results which cannot by used to land a conclusion. If however, some form of evidence is provided by researchers in the form of statistical data and numbers, we could possibly land on a closure. Until then, we have to hold our hands for further studies to present us with valid and credible conclusions.