When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Architecture is a form of art that exposes the popular designs and styles throughout time. When preserved, historic buildings can be glimpses into another era and even inspire elements of new modern building styles. Replacing old buildings on valuable land with new modern development could be useful for cleaning and safety purposes, but present a problematic practice that could destroy elements of national history.

Old buildings can be categorized in many different ways. For example, an old building could be a historical artifact such as the childhood home of a famous leader or a location where something important happened. On the other hand, an old building could simply be an abandoned home on the side of the road with little to no historical significance. In this case, modern planners would have less to consider when determining where to develop and the demolition of this building would have little to no consequence. Additionally, some old abandoned buildings can be high safety risks as it could be contaminated with decaying lead-based paint or the structural integrity of the building could be compromised with termites or rot and anyone who ventures to the upstairs would be in danger. This could be a justification for replacing an old building for modern purposes, but this would not necessarily stay true for historical buildings.

Historical buildings can be anything from the Empire State Building to Abraham Lincoln’s childhood home; both buildings were constructed in the past and now hold historical significance. If a developer were to demolish Lincoln’s childhood home, there would be massive unrest in the United States as many historical buildings are protected by state or federal law and citizens would see this as slander to one of the most beloved presidents. Historical buildings hold not just the memories of what occurred, but also the consequences of the events and the effects on the nation. The Declaration of Independence was signed in an “old building”, but any modification or alteration to this structure would be seen as a threat to the democratic values of the United States.

Lastly, the “modern purposes” that developers would intend to implement could be anything from a four-lane highway to an oil well. Each example would bring their own consequences to the area; any kind of development for energy, tourism, or transportation requires construction which would increase the pollution of air, water, and land. These “modern developments” could introduce more problems to an area that was once peacefully existing as a historical artifact.

Unless an old building can be proven to not have any kind of historical significance, it is best to leave it be. Developers could cause some people to protest their new projects if it is even assumed to affect an historical artifact. Even if an old building looks decrepit, it could have been the childhood home of a famous leader. Also, the problems of pollution that a modern development would introduce are too great to threaten historical areas.