Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Honor codes are suggested to be the most successful method to prevent students from cheating. The author suggests that the students monitoring themselves have reported less cases of cheating than when teachers were responsible for this task, which suggests that this method is working at preventing cheating. However, the author fails to consider the context of the issue of cheating which could be explained by three different plausible scenarios.

The author first suggests that this case study at Groveton College can be applied to all other colleges and universities. This is not likely to be the case; perhaps Groveton College is vastly different from the average university and all the students take their exams in cubicles so the potential for cheating is much lower than elsewhere. Or perhaps “cheating” is defined differently; maybe at Groveton it refers to asking a question about the material, which is acceptable at most colleges and not a common definition of cheating. For these reasons, the Groveton findings should not be blindly attributed to all other colleges and universities as the structure and makeup could be vastly different.

Groveton states that their old system involved teachers closely monitoring students, but now they have students report cheating. An explanation for the number of cases going down from the old system to the new involves the fundamental change in the system. First, many teachers might be more capable at determining and knowing what cheating looks like and therefore they would be able to report more than what an average student sees. Second, students are already busy trying to learn, read, and write new material that they might not have time or the capability to recognize cheating around them especially during a timed exam. These two examples illustrate why students might not be the most reliable sources for reporting cheating cases as they might not be properly trained in what cheating looks like and they might not simply have the time or opportunity to seek out cheating.

Lastly, perhaps the comradery at Groveton is strong and students are less likely to report on their peers than a teacher would report on a student. Maybe their closeness has prevented some cheating cases from being reported, as they do not want to get their friends in trouble or expelled. In this case, the new system might not be as effective and might not actually be reducing the number of cases of cheating. The effectiveness of the transition to the new system remains to be seen as the author has not presented hard evidence explaining direct causes for the lower number of cheating cases.

The author has concluded that having students report cheating cases is more effective than teachers reporting cheating cases as they have seen a lower number of reports under this new system. However, the three previously stated alternatives highlight the logical fallacies committed by the author in an attempt to link lower cheating cases to a new honor code system. In conclusion, Groveton College could be very different from the average university and thus not able to be compared; the students could be underqualified and lack time and training to notice cheating around them; and students could simply be less willing to report cheating cases on their peers due to comradery. There are many alternatives that can explain the fewer cheating reports while questioning the effectiveness of the new honor code system.