The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Author recommend that daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. To bolster the recommendation author stated a study report of nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high and people visits the doctor only once or twice per year for treatment of colds. Further author stated that most common reason for absenteeism is colds. Thus, by eating substantial amount of fish absenteeism can be reduced. I found author’s argument unconvincing and dubious at best.

First of all, Author stated the report of East meria about their consumption of fish and their yearly visits to doctor but here author haven’t specified the details about the report. The number of responses recorded and does those responses represent the whole mass so to eliminate the probability of peculiarity nature of reports. Even if report are correct and people of East Meria consumes substantial amount of fish and they also have less visits to doctor yearly but such evidence doesn’t consent that in West Meria also same pattern will be observed. It might happen that people of West Meria might not elude cold by consuming fish or even due to substantial consumption of fish people get affected by other disease. Thus, author assumption that substantial consumption of fish would avoid absenteeism is unwarranted.

Second, Even if reports are correct author setting up relationship between consumption of fish and visits to doctor might result wrong as it might happen that due to daily consumption of other food resulted in less visits to doctor. if such is a case recommending people of west Meria to consume fish to avoid cold will have not affect on visits to doctor or such consumption might even exacerbate the situation. Author need to ensure that due to fish consumption is high, people visit to doctor is low. It might also happen that people of East Meria use home remedies to surmount the colds and that is the reasons of less visits to doctor report. In such case, fish consumption cannot be considered as prevention to colds.

Third, Even if fish consumption prevent colds, author presumptuously assumed that a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil is good way to prevent colds. It might happen that due to some elements present fish result in such prevention from cold and Ichthaid doesn’t consist of that elements. Author have also posited that colds are common reason for absenteeism thus by using Ichthaid, colds can be prevented but here author have not mention about the side effects of such oil and it might happen that after consuming Ichthaid, people of West Meria derive any other problem which led to even more absenteeism.

In conclusion, I found author’s argument unpersuasive.To strengthen the argument, author should provide details of the report and ensure that consumption of fish has resulted in less visits to doctor rather than any other explanation. To better evaluate the argument, author should provide statistical data about the common cause of absenteeism in West Meria and Ichthaid--nutritional supplement derived from fish oil will reduce absenteeism.