To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

An effective leader always works for the benefit of society with due consideration to ethics and morality. I, am in accordance with the authors’ view the author view: an official leader should always maintain the utmost ethical and moral standards. A leader with such assets is always admired and looked up as an exemplary figure, a motivation and role model to do something concrete and indelible for the country and fellow natives.

A leader, sat on authoritative position where he/she has to make serious decision regarding imminent issue, issues of national sovereignty, national security, human welfare. No leader with ethics and moral standard would make right decision for the nation if he/she is not empathetic with nation’s interest which is decided by moral and ethics he/she has within. This can be further strengthened by the example of my country, Nepal. In the history of Nepal, Political leaders, kings are rarely esteemed and beloved by our countrymen. At times, they have compromised their ethics and morality: they have signed various onerous treaties with other countries that have always proved deleterious for the nation’s development. In such way, they have been despised owing to their unethical and immoral acts. However, only few leaders in country’s history are lauded by people who always worked for nation’s betterment, who sacrificed their life for saving the national sovereignty and national integrity.

Any country has heterogenous population, a leader can not emphasis only to a faction of population and bias advantages for them. Every individual must be inclusive in the mainstream of development. If a leader is not ethical and with moral standard , he/she would not make decision for all. In such a case, a leader would be denigrated by public. So, a leader to be for all, he/she should be of great ethics and morality to be loved and admired. Such leader is bestowed with public support and whatever decision he makes, is never hindered by public and works can be progressed with efficiency.

Great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Abraham Lincoln have always been admired by people for their simplicity, morality and ethics. They always made decision with priority to nation rather than a faction of population and hence were greatly supported by public. Such support has been the factor for their success on achieving their goal efficiently.

To conclude, a ethics and morality are the assets of successful and efficient leaders. With such traits, they have been indelible in world history for generations to applaud them as great leaders.