"The most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little."

There is no book or any movie which can make someone an effective leader, but it's the person's quality of standing out and believing in his own terms and still working with a team. The statement focuses on the most essential quality of an effective leader and him or her being consistently committed to his principles and objectives. As the writer continues that the leader who can be easily influenced by the shifts in popular opinions will accomplish a little.

In my opinion, the main point of the statement is positive but the way it expresses itself tells about the writer's ingenuity. Definitely an effective leader should be committed to her principles and objectives, but one of the most important quality of a good leader is having the patience to listen to her team members and working on the problem along with them, even if at times it makes her change her principles. Being a leader is an invitation to the opportunities, risks, competitions, and opponents, and if someone isn't willing to change according to the situation, it will be undermining his own path. For example, one of the biggest companies working today, Facebook, which was facing backlashes from its customers when another social platform went on trending, Instagram, where people reduced spending time on Facebook. So, to overcome this particular problem, the company changed its basic format, and rather updated some of the features similar to Instagram, and some better than that.

If the big companies like Facebook can face backlashes and are ready to change its principles to get the public back onto the platform, then why not a leader can. A leader is expected to work firmly with all the profits under his name, but according to the statement, he should not be changing his principles according to the popular opinions. If he is not willing not change according to the market and the public opinion, then he will not be able to sell his idea on long terms.

I would rather consider it a weakness, which the writer in the statement points out as a flaw. Of course, one should not be influenced by the failures, or the claptrap going on in the public, but one should also not ignore it. It is one of the best ways of finding a flaw in oneself, which gives an opportunity to improve. Additionally, if the leader himself isn't open to change, then he or she should also not expect much from his team members and big accomplishments are way in the long path.