"The most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little."

As old adage says, " Leaders are the root of the nation, they build and flourish it", this is conspicuously true. Leaders are the people of a nation that must take fair amount of decision to sustain peace and harmony of the country. Thus, leaders should have consistency in their thought while making any decisions regarding any policies of country. Many people look up to them as an inspirations, they are luminaries of the society and thus, its their duty to make a image of paragon for their compatriots. The prompt suggests that only those leader will be considered as effective, who are consistent in their principles and objectives. those who are fickle in their principles and objectives are less likely to progress. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt and argue that leader should have consistency in their principles and objective to achieve better results in following two reasons.

To begin, people usually consider their leaders as an prototypes and why not? They are in the positions in which we consider them as public figures and take part in their lives vicariously. Thus, we look for their works and praise it if they are good and condemn if they are bad. For instance, Mahatma Gandi of India is source of inspiration to many people around the world. His non-violence approach toward the ruthless British empire made India to establish largest democracy in the world. Such iconoclastic figure like him not only make great impact but also provide an ideal examples for people to follow. His consistent objectives and principles has made him immortal in the history of indian books. On the other hand, German Nazi opressive dictator Adolf Hitler is another figure considered as pargon of vice which is due to his own intransigent objectives and principles which made niche for himself in the history.

Secondly, Although leader must be consistent in his principles and ideology, it doesn't mean he or she should disregard any potential suggestions. As principles are made by man not principles made man, thus sometimes leader should consider other possibilities too rather than being fanatic. It is true that every human doesn't know everything, thus leaders also should consider the suggestions from the other supports too. While it is evident that leader should not be fanatic, but once he or she makes a decision must remain adhere to it and should not be influenced by any opposition party otherwise the effectiveness of the decision can be questioned.

Finally, when people are not happy with the inconsistent principles and objectives of government and leaders, there is likely to be revolt, agitation and defiance of government decisions. History provides myriad of examples associated with this context. For instance, French revolution was one of the prime cause of due to unscrupulousness shown by Louis 17. His government was intransigent and unreceptive of public and poor people suggestions, rather there was taxation on them which caused revolution to overthrow the kingdom of Louis the seventeenth. Similarly, King of Iran was overthrown due to his inconsistency in his thought, didn't had any effective plan for welfare of people rather he became affluent. This demagoguery is not tolerant, and history is evidence of it. Thus, leader should not became completely tenacious in their belief rather must welcome any fruitful suggestions.

Of course, some might argue that those who has rigidity in their thought will accomplish little and it hinders overall growth of the country. If it is so, then obviously leader might be considered as zealous, but eventually people will tend to realize in the near future as why he was taking such tenacious positions and Gandi is perfect example of it. At first, no one believe to his non-violence approach but at last they had to accept the fact that his consistency was prime reason to remove India from clutches of British empire. Thus, after making reasonable decision; leader should remain intransigent in his principles and objectives.