The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that 'priority' should be given to unmanned flight operations is based on the evidence of recently held operation which was able to gather enough informations from the space mission. While the line of reasoning is clear and persuasive, the author commits insufficient data fallacy, biased sample fallacy and questionable cause fallacy. If the author is able to bolster the argument by providing sufficient data along with the time stamps, it would look quite reasonable. As it stands now, it is not probably prudent enough to take a decision on whether or not unmanned mission should be in the first place instead of manned mission.

Firstly, the author provides facts that might be absurd to acknowledge in context of the argument. Manned space might be costly and dangerous but many of them had also succeeded. May be, author should provide some statistics to represent the degree of risk involved in manned operations. The cost of unmanned operation is not being included into the argument. What if, the number of mission or rate of mission related to manned operation is higher than unmanned operations? In such scenario, calculating averages of the cost between the missions, result would be astonishing for the author. The degree of risk involved in the manned mission is a point that might be considered as a factor in which author might be true, but as it stands now it is not wise enough to compare the two disparate mission without enough amount of data.

Secondly, The author commits bigger fallacy of questionable cause while trying to bolster his point. The author begins by considering one recent success as a major reason to judge the viability of the numerous missions. Although the recent unmanned mission might have been succeed, it doesn't confirm that next mission will be of same calibar. What if next unmanned mission become more costly and even failed? This example illustrates that author have to consider any incoming instances before estimating the fitness of mission. The author has also made serious mistake by not making a past data accounted into the argument. Where are the past data of the unmanned missions? Did previous mission also provide any success or was it debacle? If only the recent unmanned mission was able to gather useful information and previous didn't, it is not wise enough to make a change in the investment yet.

Finally, the author consider the biased sample to persuade his point. The author makes a point that the cost and risk associated with manned mission is high, but does that mean unmanned mission is least efficient than manned mission. We all know that, until now man are only intelligent being on the earth and although probes and satellite are intelligent enough but not quite to the level of human. While dealing with such critical mission associated with space travel which includes big chunk of money and laborious tasks of many people, failing out to make intelligent decision may cost severe damage. Even, the space are subjected to high risk, anything can happen anytime; thus human must be capable of dealing such unpredicted events with better prudence than machine. Thus, we cannot consider that we should invest our plentyful resources in unmanned mission without considering these points.

In sum, the argument has several flaws but the intent argument posses is considerable. If the author is capable of addressing the gaps made by absurd statements by providing certain statistics or open-ended interviews, argument might sound more convincing.