“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

The argument focuses on the topic of saving money on municipal garbage disposal fees in Masontown and feels the need to encourage the residents of the town to recycle more objects. Further, a law implemented by the neighboring town is mentioned, which they implemented last year. The law states that the citizen are required to recycle their household waster or else will have to pay the fine. The law resulted in the decrease in disposal costs and to gain the similar results in Masontown, it is discussing the implementation of the advertising campaigns.

As the letter appeared in the local newspaper, the amount of information provided by the writer isn't enough for the citizens to understand the complete scenario. From the beginning of the argument it is mentioned that residents needs to be encouraged for the recycling to decrease the municipal garbage disposal fee but fails to provide the data which proves this point. The writer could have presented a chart or numerical figures to show how much recycling of waste is done, and how muhc is required. The record of previous years should also be mentioned which can favor the argument. Moreover, the writer fails to justify the reason for increment in the disposal fees, and at what rate it is changing. Following the statement, writer provides an example of the neighboring town, instead of that if he would have provided with the change in the fees by increasing the recycle of garbage, public might be more affected with that and might have responded in a positive way.

Further, as discussed about the Hayesworth, the data of their disposing fees is missing which could have presented a proper comparison between the two towns. There might be a possibility that the situation in Hayesworth is much worse than the Masontown and that's why they required a law. Or the fees might be this low that can be neglected if the recycling by the citizens increases. Proper information and clarification of Hayesworth town is missing. Furthermore, as the writer states that the fees in the neighboring town has decreased, but how much isn't mentioned. Maybe the law they implemented failed to provided the intended results is not clear.

In the last sentences, it is presented that Masontown is planning to start an advertising campaign to encourage the citizens, but does not provide proper details about so. Also, the conclusion of the statement is not clarified, if the government of Masontown only relies on such campaigns and recycling process or they are intending to do further more.

The overall scenario of the argument is weakened by the lack of information provided by the writer, which somehow questions his own credibility, if he has the further knowledge or if it is just an order he received to write for the paper. As the writer is also not disclosed, such arguments cannot be trusted as they might contain fake news.