If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees we need to encourage our residents to recycle more Late last year our neighboring town Hayesworth passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass or pay a fine Since

Author stated that, with encouraging Masontown's residents to recycle more, town can save money. This statement supported with example that neighboring town Hayesworth implemented this idea and became successful. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, does really recycling garbage is cheaper than disposal? Author mentioned just Hayesworth's garbage disposal costs decreased. But there is nothing about saving money. Maybe Hayesworth spent more money for recycling paper and glass than saved disposal fees. If this scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does the Masontown's residents have same culture or opinion about garbages ? Maybe Masontown's people will not inspire from advertising campaign. Indeed, maybe they will refute recycling and pay a fine. So, again government should pay money for disposaling garbages and can not save money on disposal of waste. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer these two questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to implement an advertising campaign in Masontown.