Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

It is important to keep students socially engaged and sports and activities are some of the methods used in order to fulfill this duty. Some people concur that these things are as significiant as classes and libraries. However, I disagree with this notion and argue that keeping quality of education high should be our first priority for two reasons and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, we should define clearly the major aim of the universities and colleges. In my opinion, the most important mission is to give better education and prepare excellent people that can change the world. In order to be an expert of their field, they should possess soft skills along with hard skills. In contrast, one hundred years ago there was almost no need to have soft skills. Having ability for doing technical part of the job was enough. But, in today's modern world having only hard skills is not sufficient. For this reason, universities try to push their students toward socializing. However, that does not mean they should devote most of their budget to build large sport areas or organize high-cost events. For example, imagine a college that has limited number of books in library and obsolete machines in laboratory but perfect football arena and also sends its students to trips every week in order to socialize them. As a result, when these students graduate, they will maybe have superb communication and other soft skills, but do not have right abilities for getting the work done. For this reason, prime concern of universities and colleges should be delivering high quality education.

Second of all, no one can deny that teachers play a big role on education. Thus, universities must pay attention to attract well educated experts for teaching subjects rather than arranging super quality parties. For example, assume a university that organize basketball matches every month and awarding winners with really big amount of money. On the other side, it has experienced instructors that have low motivation for teaching because of small amount of wage. Instead of increasing their wage, university continues to distribute its budget to students with the aim of increasing their motivation toward the game. Consequently, again students maybe have great soft skills when they finish education. However, with the little proficiency and limited knowledge about their field. It is certainly clear to see why universities should pay much attention to the education's quality rather than sports or activities.

To make a long story short, for the two reasons outlined above, I am of the opinion that classes and libraries should get the highest financial support.