The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaint

Author says that for avoiding losses and complaints, they should increase time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Author support this statetement with complaints from viewers and cancelled advertising contracts. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, author states that, most of the complaints concerned with weather and local news. But there is ambiguity, because we can not compare if the numbers of all complaints are increased or decreased. Also, we can not exactly say that complaints are about with decreased time devoted to weather and local news. Maybe it is about any technical issues in program or something else. If this scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, author asserts that, local businesses stopped their contracts with late-night news program. But there is no point in this statement which says these cancellations are because of less devoted time for weather and local news. Maybe businesses are no longer satisfied with effectiveness of advertising in late-night news program for some other reasons. In addition, we can not say anything about losing advertising revenues. Because, increased time to national news can attract national companies for placing advertisings in that program and maybe, this can be more profitable than before. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer these questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to restore the time devoted to weather and local news.