A teacher s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught Use specifc reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples

Teachers should have teaching skills in addition to their knowledge. Some people concur that excellent knowledge is the only principle requirement for a teacher. However, i disagree with this notion and argue that some abilities are more important than knowledge for two reasons and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, as a nature of this job, teachers should communicate and convey information to students effectively. In my opinion, not having perfect knowledge is not a big deal. But teachers must have some soft skills in order to compensate for this gap. For example, my statistics professor did not know or sometimes forgot some important formulas about the subject. Moreover, he could not speak fluently in English. Nonetheless, he was able to communicate effectively and motivated me superbly. Although his vocabulary is limited, he can use fewer words with hand gestures and teach subject flawlessly. It is certainly clear to see why soft skills are more important.

Second of all, not every knowledgeable person is a teacher. In order to be a successful teacher, a person should possess some additional abilities. No one can deny that one of these abilities is excellently understanding students. According to experiments made by Australian scholars, if students favor their teacher, they try to study well that subject with the aim of getting appraise. Drawing from my own experience, I can say that if a teacher does not relate to and create relationships with his or her students well, he or she probably will not be admired by them. For instance, I was trying to avoid economics classes in university in spite of my fondness for this subject. There was only one reason: bad instructor. I do admit that she was very talented and knowledgeable; however, she was very strict and communicated rudely to students. Almost everyone in class hated her and joined class reluctantly. As a result, no one had learned anything from this adroit lecturer.

To make a long story short, for the two reasons outlined above, I am of the opinion that a teacher's ability to create links with students is more significant than his or her excellent expertise.