"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning."

Socializing with new people can be considered one of the greatest activities to learn or enhance knowledge. We meet different people in our clubs, offices, or colleges, everyone with different opinions and various viewpoints. Some amuses us, while some make us feel uncomfortable or stressful. It depends on you, how much you value other's views and how you consider those discussions in your own life. While the speaker believes that people learn more from the ones they share their views with, than the ones contradicting them. I certainly disagree with the thought for various reasons.

Firstly, the speaker discusses that people tend to learn more with the people they share their views with. This statement itself shows the weakness of a person. This displays the inability of a person to accept other's views or beliefs. If someone isn't ready to meet others different from their nature, they won't be able to fit in the society, making themselves a separate part of the community who looks for their own kind of locals. One will develop a nature of not accepting the change and adapt something new making themselves provincial.

We definitely do feel more comfortable with the people who agree with us, or support our views, but there are less chances of learning something new with them. As they will not bring anything different from us, making our points restricted to a limited scope, which clearly does not indicate a step towards learning.

It's not important to form a healthy relationship with someone who contradicts ones viewpoints until and unless there is no harsh feelings apart from the topic. As we find people who contradicts our theory, or opinions, we tend to get involved in it more, increasing our knowledge and helping us understand other's viewpoints and their claims. Which will surely be more of a learning exercise than discussing a topic with someone of the same views.

Secondly, it will make a person comfortable in adapting the change, as "The only constant is the change.". Debating one's viewpoints and discussing might make someone stressful as they might not be able to prove their point or not able to understand the others, but this will give them an opportunity to understand the topic more thoroughly, helping them with deeper knowledge than before and more comfortable. Maybe by this process, they learn something new to prove the other person wrong, or find a flaw in their theory, and they end up helping them correcting their knowledge.

So I don't believe that it's inhibiting learning, rather it is providing a better phase of learning, making it more enjoyable and more interactive. For example, if everyone would have agreed with the first Relative theory of Einstein's experiments, we today would not have got the Newton's three gravitational laws. History gives the best examples why it is more than learning with the people who contradicts ones views.