"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

The speaker here concentrates on the high school curriculum to be common in the nation. And I do agree with the statement, but having a common curriculum should not stop schools to include other subjects. As a diverse nation include types of traditions with a great history, schools in different parts of the nation should have the freedom to teach their students about their culture and traditions. This will make kids familiar with the origin of their culture, and will also help them continuing it.

A national curriculum will be beneficial to a nation in various aspects. Firstly, every student will have a similar educational base which will help create a fair competition level among students. Having a common education improves the chances for the colleges to evaluate one’s profile. Moreover, it will help them create a syllabus for the freshmen which will not be higher or lower level of what high schools have taught. It will include a blend of what should be taught from the prior knowledge of the students and what can be expected from them to know.

Elaborating the above point of prior knowledge, the national curriculum molds the educational system in a way that the students need to clear a certain level to take another academic step forming a chained system. This kind of education tests the student’s ability to understand and grasping power over the syllabus, ranking them according to the marks they score in the tests. This creates a healthy level of competition among students, providing them the platform to explore their extents. Secondly, some students do not stick to one school for certain reasons. For example, children whose parents are in transferable jobs. They have to shift with their families whenever required. So, if there will be a different curriculum in every state or school, it will be difficult for those students to cope-up with distinct syllabi. This problem can be solved with the common core curriculum in the nation.

Every student is different with distinct interests and talents, just the core curriculum isn’t enough for the schools, which gives them a chance to introduce other activities and subjects with the national curriculum. Restricting the schools to the national curriculum only will be a big disadvantage for the nation itself, as it won’t provide the students a platform to explore other than the restricted subjects. Every child has his own pace which makes him different from others. If a student isn’t doing well in the core subjects, it doesn’t make him any less of someone or doesn’t questions his ability to do better in future. Maybe he is talented in some other field, but because of the restrictions, school couldn’t provide the platform. For example, if the schools are restricted to the core curriculum only which does not cover beyond the academic sessions, without providing any other activities like sports, art or music. A student talented in art would be in loss in such cases, because a proper platform isn’t provided to him, displaying a hole in the educational system of the nation.

In the end, I’d like to conclude that it is important to have a national curriculum. However, schools should not be bounded to it and should have the freedom to make changes according to them.