The following appeared in the editorial section of a health and fitness magazine.

"In a study of the effects of exercise on longevity, medical researchers tracked 500 middle-aged men over a 20-year period. The subjects represented a variety of occupations in several different parts of the country and responded to an annual survey in which they were asked: How often and how strenuously do you exercise? Of those who responded, the men who reported that they engaged in vigorous outdoor exercise nearly every day lived longer than the men who reported that they exercised mildly only once or twice a week. Given the clear link that this study establishes between longevity and exercise, doctors should not recommend moderate exercise to their patients but should instead encourage vigorous outdoor exercise on a daily basis."

The editorial introduces the study of 500 middle-aged men for 20 years to examine the effects of exercising on life longevity. According to the statement, the medical researchers relied on a survey, which was supposed to be filled by these men annually, asking about their exercising routines. As the survey resulted that the vigorous exercisers lived longer, the writer concludes that the doctors should encourage their patients for daily vigorous outdoor exercises rather than the moderate ones. Though, the medical researchers played a role for the support of the conclusion, still the statement fails to provide valuable justifications, questioning the rudimentary elements on the whole study.

Firstly, the assertion fails to clarify the number of respondents researchers had over the 20 year time period. Also, if they were receiving accurate answers or not, there was no way to find that out. If the responses received are not accurate, the whole study will be questioned. Moreover, the writer fails to answer that on what basis do the researchers consider these responders dead. Because if they are relying on the responses, and if someone doesn't answer for a few years, that means they are dead according to the researchers, then there might be a possibility that the whole study is false. Additionally, the ratio of deaths over the years is missing which weakens the study case.

Secondly, the writer does not mention anything about the participants. Only the number of participants is provided. There is no clarification on what basis are these men chosen. If it was a random selection, or do any of them have any kind of similarities. The editorial fails to introduce these participants, as the reader has no knowledge of their residential, occupational and health conditions. There might be a possibility that some of the participants have lived longer because of their jobs or some might be dead because of some unfortunate accidents.

Thirdly, twenty-year time period is very less to conclude such studies. That is, studying only 500 subjects and that too without the proper knowledge of the reasons of their death, it is difficult to conclude anything. For such studies, more subjects should be needed for a long period of time. Additionally, there are chances that someone might lie in these surveys. Or it might be possible that some might have exercised vigorously for half year or less, and they have answered something else during the survey. So, for the accurate results surveying cannot be considered one of the precise ways of study.

At the end, suppose the survey is faultless and the researchers have definite knowledge of the living and the dead subjects, still, it does not conclude that the doctors should encourage their patients to do vigorous outdoor exercises instead of the moderate ones. As neither the medical researchers nor the results of the survey comment anything on the moderate exercising routines.

Concluding my opinion, the editorial reflects a facetious image of the researchers as it talks about the survey without proper knowledge. One of the weakening points of the editorial is that it lacks the genuine results and conveys the wrong conclusion which is not even mentioned in the researcher's study. To strengthen the argument, a 20-year time period is way less, and the subjects are also not enough. Validated results of the survey, number of deaths and alive, and reasons of death might have given a bit of value to the statement, still couldn't prove the conclusion of advising moderate or vigorous outdoor exercises to the patients.