The following appeared in the editorial section of a health and fitness magazine.

"In a study of the effects of exercise on longevity, medical researchers tracked 500 middle-aged men over a 20-year period. The subjects represented a variety of occupations in several different parts of the country and responded to an annual survey in which they were asked: How often and how strenuously do you exercise? Of those who responded, the men who reported that they engaged in vigorous outdoor exercise nearly every day lived longer than the men who reported that they exercised mildly only once or twice a week. Given the clear link that this study establishes between longevity and exercise, doctors should not recommend moderate exercise to their patients but should instead encourage vigorous outdoor exercise on a daily basis."

The argument focuses on the effects of exercising on life longevity and concludes its point on the basis of the answers of a survey taken by 500 middle aged men for over 20-year time period. According to the survey held, men exercising vigorously tend to live longer than the men who exercise once or twice a week. In my opinion, the survey somehow helps to relate exercise with life longevity, still lacks various proofs for supporting the conclusion.

In the beginning, the writer introduces a survey held among 500 middle-aged men for over 20 years, but fails to explain on what basis did the medical researchers chose these 500 men. If anyone among them had major or minor health issues, and does not mention anything about their living environment if it was a clean developed city or were living in bucolic places. Proper justification about the survey takers is missing. Continuing further, the writer talks about just one question asked among the men, about their exercising routine. There were no other questions mentioned for example, no mention of their diet, or consumption of dairy items, or if they were indulged in smoking or drinking. The writer fails to give a proper scenario of the survey and its participants.

Further in the argument, the writer directly concludes his or her point on the basis of a single question survey. This shows the lack of seriousness of the researches, because a single survey cannot establish a link between such issues. Proper study, justification and timed experiments are needed for a proper conclusion. There might be a possibility that the men who were surveyed, didn't gave the right answers and took the questions lightly. Or maybe some lied in their answers. Moreover, it was an annual survey, so people might have exercised vigorously for a time period and that is what they might have answered, as the question doesn't ask about the time period for exercising. There can be many other factors where people might wish to exercise vigorously outside, but couldn't because of climatic conditions or any other issue, and might have answered what they have wished about.

However, if the survey was also quite accurate, the conclusion statement twists the end results. As it clearly references that people exercising mildly had a short life span as compared to the vigorous one, and does not mention a word about the moderate exercising routines. There might be people who are exercising moderately, but the survey only had two options for it's answers, the vigorous one and the mild. And because of that they might have chosen the vigorous or the mild one. The whole survey point questions the work of the researchers and the writer.

Concluding my opinion, the writer fails to prove his point as no details about the moderate exercising people is given, and rather the conclusion is based on the results of an undermined survey. Moreover, there is no mention of the writer in the statement, whether it was the researcher himself, or some reporter or a junior working under someone. The argument fails to prove it's point questioning it's own experiments.