Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

The writer claims that an action is morally correct if the amount of good results from the action is greater than the amount of the bad result. And to justify his point, he provides a reason stating that while assessing the morality of an action, the results are more important than the intentions of the person performing them. In my opinion, claim can be presented in a positive and in a negative way in different situations, but the reason is something cannot be acceptable. I would disagree with the reason for a following reasons.

Beginning with the claimed point, in some scenarios the statement can be agreed with. For example, if a company is facing great risks because of sudden market drop down, and the manager of the company takes some serious actions in favor of the company but without the knowledge of higher authorities. Also, the manager himself isn't sure if the results will be positive or company might face more loss. In such case, if the manager's actions take positive turn for the company, then the claimed statement by the writer can be agreed with. But the same statement will be false if the situation was different. For instance, a thief, who entered an empty villa with the intensions of robbery, and ended up calling the fire brigades after seeing the fire in the neighborhood. Here, the amount of good results are greater than the bad results (which was robbery), the moral actions can be questioned as after all the caller was a thief and had malicious intentions.

Now, focusing on the reason provided for this claim. As discussed in the above example, it does not matter how good someone's action's results are, if their intentions are not morally positive, they will harm the society in one or the other way. As the reasoning statement concentrates that the result of the actions is more important than the intentions of the person can be proved false if we alter the situation in the first example from the previous paragraph. Suppose, the manager who took instant action for the well-fare of the company, but ended up with a major loss rather than saving it. In this situation, the morality of the manager's actions cannot be judged on the basis of the results but his intentions should also be considered.

If the reason provided is considered true, then the thief, who had toxic intentions is morally correct and the manager, who wished to save the company is morally wrong. Yes, the results of the action do matter, but they do not define the morality for the performer.

There is no way one can identify the intentions of a person just because there was a positive result for his actions. Again, this is not always true that someone with the good intentions cannot bring out the positive results. In that case, his morality can be assessed positively. But judging someone only on the basis of the results for their actions does not define their morality. Rather it questions the society, and somehow the result statement diminishes the difference between two people with good and bad intentions, as one can be moralized in any sense just because they couldn't produce the desired results.

Hence, I disagree with the statements of the writer.