Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should encourage their students to question everything. Use examples and reasons to support your position.

Teachers are considered responsible for what a child is learning in school. A student's knowledge and polished behavior shows in what kind of school he's been taught. As mentioned in the question that teachers should encourage their students to question everything, I would agree with it because this can help teachers themselves to understand their students.

I believe so because when students start questioning, it shows that they are learning and they might have some problem with the topic, but at least their mind is on the right track. For instance, when I was in college, I started working as a part-time tuition teacher, and I had this one student who used to just listen to lecture without asking any doubts or putting up any problems. On the other hand, his friend, Rohan, who was in the same grade used to ask questions about each and every detail he found difficult. And because of his behavior I knew in what topics he was facing difficulties and we worked on that, which helped him scoring well in his exams. Whereas, his friend barely passed the exams.

Another reason I would agree with the statement is because when students starts questioning, it can convert a boring lecture into an interactive session, where students learn more. As in a lecture, the teacher explains about the topic and presents the facts about it, but if the students start questioning about the topics the lecture can be seen not as a lecture but an interactive session. For example, when I was in high school, we used to have a history class for three hours in a week which was boring and sleepy. But after a few classes my teacher asked us to go through the summary of the topic which she was going to teach so that we can cross-question her while teaching. This activity gave the boring history class an interesting competitive platform. Also, I realized that it was easy to learn things if we are asking the questions as it clears most of our doubts. We continued this activity the whole semester and my whole class scored great results in history.

Moreover, when students start putting up questions, the teachers get to know about the interest of their students and it becomes easy for them to help their students according to their needs. In my opinion, this also help in building a healthy bond between students and teachers, as teachers become familiar with their students and even students can look up to their teachers for whenever they face issues or difficulties in their subjects or even outside school. For example, when I was in college, I had to face a lot of bully because of my weight. But because I had an interactive relation with one of my teachers, she went beyond her way and helped me in the situation.

These are the few reasons I would support the statement that teachers should encourage their students to question everything. Moreover, such habits are beneficial for both the teachers and students, as they both are gaining positive results from this.