Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree?

As a kid history wasn't my favorite subject in high school, still there was always a quote written on history books which used to impress me and push me towards the subject- "We study history to avoid the same mistakes again ". Learning about our past plays an important role in our lives as we learn about our culture, traditions, etc. Also, it is important to have knowledge about the past wars and sacrifices of freedom fighters for the country. So, I would disagree with the statement that learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

Firstly, as time passes many things change and people forget about their traditions, languages, culture. For example, as a kid my grandmother used to tell me the stories of her childhood about how they used to celebrate festivals, what was the environment during the world wars and how they suffered for food and land. Of course, this is all history and isn't useful for us now, but they do play a role in how we see our ancestors. If my grandmother wouldn't have told me about her childhood, I wouldn't have known how lively their life was at the time. They didn't had internet, still teens used to group up for many adventurous plans. Also, there are so many lost languages which our ancestors used to speak, but because nobody uses them today, we have no knowledge of them. I believe, learning about the past connects us with our ancestors.

Secondly, every country has its own story, with its own heroes and our history tells us the stories of them. If it weren't for the history records, we would have never known how many freedom fighters and soldiers have lost their lives for the wellbeing of our country. For example, everyone is familiar with how Mahatma Gandhi's actions helped India achieve independence, but the past tells us that it wasn't only Gandhi who fought, but many other freedom fighters like Bhagat Singh, Mangal Pandey, Lakshmi Bai, and many more gave up their crowns and glories for serving and fighting for their countries.

Moreover, there are many examples why learning history is important. For instance, if there was no record of how Newton found about gravity, Einstein would have never been able to oppose him. Hence, in my opinion, it is important to learn about our history.