Salaries of teachers should be affected by the academic performances of the students

The statement focuses on the salaries of teachers and asserts that it should be based on their student's academic performance. Though, the thought of the writer is positive and might somehow improve the academic performances of students, as teachers will start avoiding their carelessness as much as possible. But, more than the positive aspects, it brings out the negative results which might not be noticed in the start. The following points mentioned below are the reason why I would disagree with the statement.

Starting from the positive effects of such rule, it is not that at present teachers are not concerned about their students, but after implementation of the rule as stated by the writer, teachers will be more concerned about the students who aren't performing well. They'll provide each student the amount of time required to gain a positive result. Also, if the teachers are careless at some point while teaching, which in any way can affect the student's performances will be stopped.

But the above points are just the limited positive results as compared to the negative ones.

Firstly, it will increase the competition between the teachers about their salaries. The competition might end up by teachers forcing their students to work hard out of their limits, which might affect the student's mental health. For example, if a class of 10 students is being taught two subjects in a semester by two different teachers. Then one teacher will want the students to perform well in her subject, while the other would also not want to compromise his subject, as now the student's performances affects their salaries directly. This will increase the pressure on students and they might end up spoiling both the results.

Secondly, such law will directly affect the student, which can be in a positive or negative way. For example, there are some students who can work well under pressure, and for the increased salaries, teachers will be more concerned and sometimes might pressurize, those students who weren't doing well earlier might end up scoring good marks. On the other hand, some who cannot handle the pressure and works well at their own pace might get affected by the teacher's overly concerned study tactics and end up with a score worse than before. A class consists of diverse students with different pace and minds. The rule might be helpful for one, and might affect the other.

Thirdly, there is a possibility that teachers might be more focused on their salaries and not how the individual student is performing. And so, for higher salaries, they work with the bright students and might ignore the weak ones. This will affect the decorum of the classrooms. Furthermore, there are possibilities that some students aren't really good in academics, which makes difficult for teachers to make them score well. If a teacher is teaching the students who are well performed sportsperson, or musician but lacks academic, then no matter how good the teacher is, or how hard he is trying, his salary will decrease.

The equal salary for teachers is well balanced because it won't affect any particular teacher. Teachers won't be forced to compete with their own friends or colleagues. Hence, I would disagree with the writer.