Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The engraved past is often considered to drive the future generations, and is considered to be a great teacher. Some believe that the lessons of history dwell by providing great insights and values for the current and future generations. This essay will state as of why the past has value for the people at present.

Past provides us a pattern which can be analyzed to define and understand a process. Many concepts in science and technology are derived from patterns or past experience. Further, the studies also show that the analysis of past data or patterns yield information about previously unknown things. For instance, the concept of Darwin’s evolution was developed via connecting the dots from the past, the work of Darwin provides us the explanation of how the evolution takes place. The work was in a way incomplete as it was not able to provide explanation to many of the prevailing phenomenon, the improvements on his work are still based on past work and evidence which help us understand how the process of evolution works on a greater level. Therefore, the past provides us with invaluable insights which can be used to define and understand a particular process.

Second, Past learning provide us better solutions to our problems. Many of the technologies used today are still based on the techniques and solutions provided by the philosophers of the past. For instance, the method of remainder theorem was developed by Chinese mathematicians which were initially of no use to the “modern scientist”. However, the current knowledge of Chinese remainder theorem (also known as CRT) is widely used in the field of computer security to solve complex problems of exponentiation. Further, the current scientific research also deals with usage of “Literature Review” or “Prior Arts” which forms a basis of the current research, at times the researchers aim to use the knowledge of these learnings and apply it to their solutions. Thus, the knowledge of past provides us with better solutions to future problems.

The past learning is important because it can be used to describe a particular phenomenon and foster application to our day-to-day life. In conclusion, the learning of the past are of highest value in the modern world, the seminal work of different philosophers will help provide solutions to our problems and bolster the current knowledge in the field.