The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Technological innovations are a key for developing a better functioning society, companies, nations and institutions are all focusing on developing products, techniques and tools to make human life better. It is thus, no shock when billions of dollars are spent on a product which expedites a process – innovation of light bulbs from gas lamps was not cheap. The process of innovation is daunting as at certain cases many of these technological innovations fail miserably – Windows operating system for mobile – although the aim is to provide better functioning, the market reaction plays a major role in deciding its true fate. I prompt directs that the technological advancements should alleviate lives. I strongly agree with it because of two reasons.

Technological advancements shape a better world and this makes faster delivery of products. Indeed, it is true that the primary aim for most innovations, patents and research is to depict tangible result which shape lives – affecting billions. In the process, it has been evident that they somehow improve lives. For instance, introduction of computers made it easy to write documents, edit it and print it which were not a very easy process before – initially we used typewriter on which there were keys which allowed us to write on it, the problem was it was very mechanical, after every line we must realign from the fresh line, moreover, if there were changes to be made we had to make use of whitener. The introduction of modern technology such as computers, have expedited the above process, now just by hitting the back space or using shortcut key buttons we can either add or delete complex chunks of data. Thu, it can be directed from the above instance that the technological advancement has made world a better place, influenced billions of people and is helping us deliver the product with efficacy. The above in turn results in “getting the job done” on time which provides us with leisure time and to do things which enhance our prior arts.

Faster growth and widespread innovation on a technology will take place only if it has a potential to change lives. Academia and industry collaborate on research proposals, exchange dialects and embrace the future innovation only if the work has real-time application. For instance, current research on VANET (Vehicular Ad-hoc Networks) has recently been adopted – although it was introduced in 2001 – because of need for better traffic management, gathering traffic conditions and its need for saving lives. The major consortium are working on this – IEEE has introduced a dedicated protocol called IEEE 802.11 p – to make sure that or future generations do have access to better functioning society. The major cause of it was because of having a controlled and sophisticated traffic. Thus, the institutions and industries usually innovate on products and technology which has a potential to improves lives. If the innovation has a minuscule application in the future, the probability is that it will not be widely cherished – many patents are left as is, they never come to life as products. It can be evident that introduction of better traffic condition will improve our lives and provide us with better quality of livelihood; also provide us leisure time which we can spend with our family. The above example illustrates that the current focus usually lies on the area where there is a possibility of a real-time application of a thing which can change the world and improve our lives; which in turn provides us a better quality time.

Although, the technological innovations are usually productive and incremental, opponents of the view can argue that many innovations are destructive – TNT (trinitrotoluene), atomic bombs, etc. It can still be noted that these innovations have been useful in a certain way for instance TNT has a heavy applications in mining – for underground explosions and for rupturing buildings. It can be evident that the above results in a real-time tangible application of the innovation which indeed provides leisure time while comparing to previous mining methods. Moreover, introduction of atomic bombs has in a way shaped our society by imposing constraints on it and the further innovation resulted in extraction of energy from nuclear sources – it is regarded as the only source of energy which has a great future perspective. Thus, the application of an innovation depends on the users and their minds, but the only thing which is certain is that the innovation which will ease life will exist and others will perish.