It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

We humans are social beings; we live in a society, follow its norms and work in summations to improve it. The society at times imposes certain responsibilities on individuals, the anomalies or the outliers are those who do not adhere to this responsibility, these responsibilities are assumed to be beneficent for everyone, the question is do they? The prompt directs to a peculiar stance, I disagree with the statement because of the reasons below.

The beliefs one possess is capricious, the source of these beliefs are often imposed on us at early stage and at times we over power them and start rejecting these beliefs. Thus, it can be seen that the beliefs one possess throughout different ages, is subject to change. Many things which we feel morally wrong or incorrect, we accept it at some later point of time. Lying is usually believed to be a bad thing at our infancy, but at instances where it is necessary to lie, we do, thus we learn that it is okay to lie, if the situation demands for it – we often tell our kids or younger siblings that Santa is real, but in fact we are well aware that it a lie. Thus, to adhere to set of beliefs is also unjustifiable means to decide, as they are always subject to change. However, one should definitely follow the beliefs they have at each stage of life. But since these changes are bound to happen we do not know – the good, the bad is thus variable across different peoples view.

Secondly, the survival may demand one to overcome these so established beliefs. At times when a person is facing a dilemma the person choses to do things which are favoring his chances of survival – vegans and many Indian caste people are strict about not eating non-veg, but if they are in a situation similar to that of “Life of Pi” they have to eat sea food for survival – thus they are in a way completely defying the established beliefs they had. Further, influencer of these beliefs is the peer groups; we cannot deny the fact that our peers influence our activities, thoughts and even practices. For instance – our work peers, of marketing tell us to make the sale at any cost, these might at times champion deceiving the client or subscribing the under privileged student for a high fee without providing discount, to promote sales, we although empathetic to it first eventually learn that we have to do it because “everyone I know is doing it”.

However, one can argue that these beliefs guide us and without them we are lost. The above point does make a strong point, but these beliefs sometimes force us to do the wrong things – “Sati” practice (burning the lady alive, if her husband is dead) in India was heralded because it was thought to be religiously right, but is it correct morally to follow it? These beliefs can be good or bad, which is again subjective – the followers or Sati did and do believe it so. But, it is wrong in every human aspect possible. Further, killing a baby fetus – It is believed across different cultures that it is okay to kill the girl if the parents feel so, they usually burn the child in the hot milk container – which is again a practice which is WRONG, but certain beliefs promote it.

From the above points it can be evident that the beliefs cannot guide us, thus just by following a certain set of belief we cannot be certain whether we are right or wrong, as it is subjective in nature. Many interpretations of these beliefs exists and with time many perish, so should we follow the ones which have survived the longest, again the answer is still subjective. “Sati” lasted for over 300 years.