The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Thanks to technological advancement, our society is development at an incredible speed these days, and we are living a life that those who live decades ago can hardly imagine. We are utilizing the benefits that technology has provided, but seldom ask what should be the primary goal for such a fast-paced development. Many hold the view that technological applications are born to increase people’s efficiency which renders more leisure time. However, as far as I am considered, this opinion is somehow myopic.

To begin with, one essential aspect for technological development is to make our lives better secured and our privacy better protected. For example, almost all mobile phones are equipped with fingerprint or facial recognition feature. These features have nothing to do with efficiency, and is development and needed mainly for sake of privacy protection. Also, more and more cameras are installed inside a house or on the street, which render the houseowner or the police to know what’s happening, and when a crime occurs, the evidence can be extremely powerful and helpful.

Secondly, technological advancements also take place to make us more powerful. Past decades have seen the prosperity of computer science and big data processing. With the significance of big data being noticed and exploited, there is a desperate demand for computers with higher performance to process millions of datasets and perform complex calculations. As a result, cloud servers, high-performance multi-core CPUs and new computer programming languages are all created. These inventions do greatly improve the efficiency of human beings, but is mot made to prolong our leisure time, rather, they are made to empower us and renders it possible for us to spend more time on more important issues.

I have to admit that there are many cases where the ultimate goal for the development is to improve the efficiency and provide more leisure time for us. One typical example is the development of transportation. Nowadays, trains and planes have become the major ways when people talk about traveling, but this is not the case decades ago, when we use steam machines as drivers of the trains and boats. Thanks to the past development in transportation, we are enabled to travel from Asia to North America, going across the Pacific Ocean, in less than one day, under which scenario we are given more time for leisure, for travel, and for experiencing the life.

To sum up, the goal of technological development should not be limited to improve our efficiency and provide more leisure time, since they do have more profound and beneficial tasks: to empower us human beings, to protect our privacy, and to make the world a better place to live.