The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Thanks to technological advancement, our society is developing at an incredible speed these days, and we are living a life that those who live decades ago can hardly imagine. We are utilizing the benefits that technology has provided, but seldom ask what should be the primary goal for such a fast-paced development. Many hold the view that technological applications are born to increase people’s efficiency which renders more leisure time. However, as far as I am considered, this opinion is somehow myopic.

To begin with, one essential aspect of technological development is to make our lives better secured and our privacy better protected. For example, almost all mobile phones today are equipped with fingerprint or facial recognition features. These features have nothing to do with efficiency and are developed and needed mainly for the sake of privacy protection. Also, more and more cameras are installed inside a house or on the street, which renders the house owners or the police to know what’s happening, and when a crime occurs, the evidence can be extremely powerful and helpful.

Secondly, technological advancements also take place to make human beings more powerful. Past decades have seen the prosperity of computer science and big data processing. With the significance of big data being noticed and exploited, there is a desperate demand for computers with higher performance to process millions of datasets and perform complex calculations. As a result, cloud servers, high-performance multi-core CPUs and new computer programming languages are all created. These inventions greatly improve the efficiency of human beings but is not made to prolong our leisure time, rather, they are made to empower us and renders it possible for us to spend more time on more important issues.

I have to admit that there are many cases where the ultimate goal for the development is to improve efficiency and provide more leisure time for us. One typical example is the development of transportation. Nowadays, trains and planes have become the major ways when people talk about traveling, but this is not the case centuries ago when steam machines were mainly used. Thanks to the past development in transportation, we are enabled to travel from Asia to North America, in less than one day, under which scenario we are given more time for leisure, for travel, and for experiencing the life.

To sum up, the goal of technological development should not be limited to improve our efficiency and provide more leisure time, since they do have more profound and beneficial tasks: to empower us human beings, to protect our privacy, and ultimately, to make the world a better place to live in.