The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

Nowadays, countries are measured by so many indicators: some are praised because of their high GDP growth rate, while others are proud of the Nobel Prizes they have won; some label themselves to have the most appropriate medical and education system, while other governments utilize their authority and centralization to boost the economy. Questions like what makes a country great are always asked, and as is often the case, opinions tend to differ. As far as I am concerned, however, I consider the general welfare of a nation’s people a better indicator.

To begin with, I believe that the ultimate goal for a country to exist is to maximize the utility of its citizens, rather than to make only a small number of its citizens effulgent. More specifically, a country should consider more about the general welfare, making its people’s life more qualified and more valuable. Imagine a country which has nurtured a large number of Nobel Prize winners, collected novel paintings from all over the world, and developed the most sophisticated legal systems to ensure the stabilization of the society, but at the same time, the majority of its citizens are pecunious and in severe poverty. Can this country be called great? No. This indicates extreme inequality of inside the country, and such a system cannot be stable and is unlikely to foster future growth.

Secondly, I think abstract concepts, fantastic paintings and national machines are only valuable when they have applications. It’s true that we need scientists to explore the unknown world and develop series of theories for us to understand the physical world, but theories can only create values when they have applications: we benefit from the infrastructures instead of the concepts in engineering books, and we take advantage of economic growth rather than abstract models in macroeconomic books. As a result, we do need those metaphysical achievements to be applied, which results in the improvement of the general welfare.

I do admit that the achievements of rulers, artists and scientists are unignorable and is the foundation to ensure the stability, educated level and future development of a country, but a country can never have only leader and no followers. The disabled, the poor and the pedestrian majority are all followers which make up the majority part of our society, the part that shouldn’t be represented only by those who have power, who are well-educated, and who have innovative ideas. They are also the part that should be paid attention to. That’s why I think the country is successful if they have good leaders, but is great when it takes care of all its general public.

From the ultimate goal that a country should maintain, I think the general welfare is helpful in forming a stable society with most people’s utility being maximized. Also, in a world emphasizing efficiency and value-added, the conceptual achievements are more valuable when they have applications and improve the life of the public. In these two senses, a country can be called great if it devoted to the betterment of general welfare instead of the achievement of its ‘leaders’.