Super Screen-produced movies

In the argument, the director makes a recommendation that the company should increase their spendings in advertising to reach more audiences, given the number of viewers declined in the past year. However, the suggestion is not convincing enough before several following questions can be answered and specified.

First of all, the director claims that their products are of good quality by saying that the percentage of positive reviews has increased. This claim actually falls into the trap of vague data, that is, it's dubious before the question regarding exactly how many percentages of reviews are positive can be answered. The director may be over optimistic after seeing a slight increase in positive reviews. For example, if percentage of positive reviews increase from 1% last year to 2% this year, we may only draw the conclusion that the movies are actually of poor quality.

Secondly, more evidence should be provided to address the question why the company sees a decline in the number of audiences this year. The writer points out directly that the decline results from a lack of public awareness. However, this doesn't have to be the case, since bad performance may be caused by various reasons. For example, last year may have seen a great recession of the economy, and as a discretionary consumption, the expenses on watching movies are cut down sharply by many families. Also, say that audiences these days generally prefer comedies to action movies, but in the last year, the mojority of the products are actually action movies, which is only appreciated by a small number of people. Consequently, the director cannot hastily draw the conclusion that the decline is solely caused by lack of awareness.

Thirdly, the writer fails to do cost and benefit analysis when making the recommendation. It's true that more expenses on advertising may lead to an increase in sales and revenues. But these benefits must be comparaed against the extra spendings on advertising. For example, if the expected increase in profit is calculated to be 200 million after more reaching more people, but at the same time, the cost for putting the advertisments on televisions is estimated to be around 300 million, then this is certainly not the strategy Super Screen wants to conduct. To make his suggestion more persuasive, the director has to answer this critical question.

In conclusion, the recommendation is dubious and not very persuasive in that it referred to vague data, and fails to analyze the real reason behind the poor performance. Also, when talking about increasing the buget to make more people be aware of the brand, the director doesn't calculated the potential cost and expected benfited that this strategy will bring. As a result, before these questions can be properly addressed, the company should hastily take this suggestion.