The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is always considered to be one of the most significant characteristics that should be nurtured and developed in the process of a young people's growth. There are a couple of ways to instill this capacity: either by encouraging them to work in teams or providing a competitive atmosphere to abet their willingness to win. As far as I am concerned, however, I consider encouraging cooperation a more effective and efficient way.

To begin with, a cooperative team means a bigger achievement. Thanks to the development of technological advancements, last decades have seen incredible growth and improvement of human society. And thogether with this, the way people work has also changed tremendously. In high-tech compenies, for example, computer programs are written by a team of employees and the promotion are handed to a specialized team after a certain app is built. This kind of cooperation renders it possible for companies to reach an achievement which can never be accomplished by a single person inside the team. Working on one's own and then compete with others has no means to train the ability of leadership, and the achievement is bound to be limited.

Secondly, working in a team also means learning from the team memebers, which will in turn fortify the capability of leadership. Take a financial institution for an example. If a company want to go IPO and get listed, an investment bank is likely to be involved, where number of departments are going to work together closely to help their client successfully get listed. This is actually a great opportunity for people from different department to learn from each other: the S&T employees and learn ways to do equity research from the research team, while front desk people can learn the way that their S&T co-workers make markets. This mutual learning process is definitely beneficial in that it can reveal different personalities and norms of different department, which will help leaders unify people from various backgrouds together in the future.

However, I have to admit that there are some cases where benign competitions can also be advantagous. For example, we do need to provide a platform for young people to showcase their leadership, and for us to discover the ones with greater potential. But I also think this competitive atmosphere shoule be built on a generaly coopereative platform, or the competions can become cruel and have just the opposite effect.

In conclusion, I do believe that leadership is nurtured mainly in the process of cooperation, since team work provide young people with more opportunities to learn and renders it possible for them to achieve bigger. Although it's true that benign competitions can act as encouragements to some extent, cooperation is still something that should be emphasized and instilled.