Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning is a lifelong process. Some people think that past learning is old school of thought and has nothing to do with the present condition; however, some disagree. In my view, learning about the past has significant value for the ones living in the present world for two main reasons.

To begin with, the past knowledge teaches you to lead a better present life. It reminds you to prevent similar mistakes done in the past and makes you learn from the consequences. For example, today when we learn about the world history, we read about the world war that took place years ago between nations. It took lives of thousands of soldiers all over the world, destroying families, spreading catastrophic disabilities and causing unreasonable waste of resources and finances. This was the result of inability of nations to dissolve their conflicts for a treaty. Certainly, today this world history teaches us to build and maintain a society which is not based on war, competition and disputes; but on peace, unity and love. This is what out society should aim for.

Moreover, learning of the past lays down the fundamentals which encourage us do further advancement. In fact, lessons from past experiences are steps towards progress. For instance, decades ago, in the field of medicine and surgery, researchers came up with Coronary artery bypass grafting to combat cardiac arrest and failure. After learning about its serious post-operative complications , minimally invasive bypass surgeries came into practice. Following that, procedure of angioplasty was discovered to reduce morbidity and promote early recovery. This technique is currently practiced in cardiac institutes all over the world as an effective intervention for heart attack, over coronary artery bypass grafting. This demonstrates how learning about the past limitations motivates you to do advanced research.

In conclusion, I support the idea that past experiences are very valuable to the present generation. This is because its learning prevents us from repeating the old mistakes; and because past experiences provides us with the foundation and motivates us towards progress.