Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Watching television is bad for children. Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

In recent years, there are opposite views on the effect of TV on children. Some people are of the opinion that watching specific programmes like art related realistic shows can encourage children to work on their vocal and dance skills. However, some are more concerned about their negative effects on the kids. I vehemently believe that negative impact of television watching outweigh its benefits for the kids. I would like to explain this by the following reasons.

To begin with, watching the television box gradually turn the kids into “Couch potato”, which hinders their physical growth and development and stimulate adverse effects on their health. Children belong to a growing age where they can earn most benefits by doing more of physical activity and not being sedentary. My niece, who is 10, demonstrates a good example for this. She dedicates her quality time, playing basketball regularly with friends in the community court, with weekly swimming sessions. This all keeps her physically fit and mentally refreshed for her studies. In contrast to this, my neighbour’s son, who is with my niece in the same grade, doesn’t go outdoor for playing and prefers to stay back home watching TV. Now he has made it a habit. As a result, his reduced physical activity and sedentary behaviour has made him obese. Occasionally in school when he plays on the field he often sprains his ankle because of his unfit state and excess weight.

In addition, Television has adverse effects on the psychological and intellectual development. The children who are not indulged in such activity are more interactive, creative and have better imagination. For example, recently, I came across a research article published in the international psychology journal. The researchers examined the effects of viewing television on the mental and emotional domains for a given duration on the kids of age 3-12 years. They found out that the kids in the experimental group were more aggressive, violent, restless and irritable than the control group. Not only that, they also lacked in their imagination, critical thinking and effective interaction with the external world. Admittedly, if the children spend more time away from television and engage in physical and mental exercises, their psychological and mental disturbances can be easily prevented.

To recapitulate, watching television is really bad for the children. This is because it restrains their physical growth and impedes their psychological and mental development.