You are a boss working at a large company, and you need to hire a new worker. What are the advantages and disadvantages of hiring an older (40 years old+) or a younger worker (25 years+)? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every business and entrepreneur aims for their economy to thrive. Depending on the job requirement, some companies prefer to appoint older staff of 40+ years old, whereas some favour in hiring young workers. Both types of workforce have their own advantages and disadvantages.

First of all, having an older employee invites treasure of professional experience in the company which attract the customers who can be benefited by a better outcome. For example, a tertiary health care centre in my home town has well experienced medical team especially the surgeons and physicians. My neighbours prefer to consult and get treated in that hospital than new private clinics nearby which have less waiting time. On asking the reason I learned that the hospital has more experienced staff and so they have more trust in their treatment than the young clinician in our community. However, I believe that the older practitioners are not open to advanced practices as they are more comfortable in their older way of professional execution. Despite this, the hospital has to pay them a substantial salary than the young fresher.

Second, young workers even though have very less experience in the field of their expertise, but they are more updated and excited to work and bring new ideas for the development of their employer. For instance, my uncle was an owner of a grocery store of special products which brought him limited income. When his son, after seeking a graduation degree in marketing and finance, started to work with him, he sprawled the business and pulled it to new heights. They got a new bigger location for opening a departmental store and they included special culinary products from different cuisine all over the world. This strategy not only attracted more customers to the store but also earned profit. This would not have happened without implementing his son’s new ideas for expanding the business.

In conclusion, appointing a young worker or an older staff completely depends on the need of the job at different levels, the merits and demerits of older and younger employee thus companies end up appointing staff from both the age group.