You are a boss working at a large company, and you need to hire a new worker. What are the advantages and disadvantages of hiring an older (40 years old+) or a younger worker (25 years+)? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every Business and entrepreneur aims for their economy to thrive. Depending on the job requirement, some companies prefer to appoint older staff of 40+ years old, whereas some favour in hiring young workers. Both types of workforce has its own advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I would prefer to hire younger workers over the older ones.

First of all, having an older employing invites treasure of professional experience in the company which attract the customers who could get benefit with a better outcome. For example, a tertiary health care centre in my home town has well experienced medical team especially the surgeons and physicians. My neighbours prefer to consult and get treated in that hospital than new private clinics nearby which have less waiting time. On asking the reason I learned that the hospital has more experienced staff and so they have more trust in their treatment than the young clinician in our community. However, I believe that the older practitioners are not open to advanced practices as they are more comfortable in their older way of professional execution. Despite of that the hospital has to pay them a substantial salary than the young fresher.

Second, young workers even though have very less experience in the field of their ability, but they are more updated and excited to work and bring new ideas for the development of their employer. For instance, my uncle was an owner of a grocery store of special products which brought him limited income. When his son, after seeking a graduation degree in marketing and finance, started to work with him, he sprawled the business and pulled it to new heights. They got a new bigger location for opening a departmental store and they included special culinary products from different cuisine all over the world. This would not have happened without implementing his son’s new ideas for expanding the business.

While leading a huge company, I would prefer to higher young staff. This is because, generally, in contrast to the older workers, the young employees are more enthusiastic to learn new techniques in training and they are adaptable to recent working practices. For example, my husband’s telecom company is one of the well know big companies in our city. They hire and train young staff at less pay-scale. So they have more hands in the work force at less cost. To be specific, they can hire 4 young workers in place of an older worker with salary of $ 15000. Moreover, they give promotion to their current employees with some salary increment, and thus there is no need to hire older high paying staff. This strategy not only brings profit to the company but also reduces unemployment rate.

In conclusion, appointing a young worker or an older staff completely depends on the need of the job and the company. I, Being a boss of large company, prefer hiring a young worker because they are adaptable to learn new skills in training and hiring them at relatively lower pay can bring a large workforce to work as a team.